In Rainbows

I paid 80p (+ 45p card fee = £1.25) for the download version of the new Radiohead album.

Why that fee? It works out at about 8p per each of the 10 songs – which is a price a certain Russian site offered for high quality mp3s of albums. I have no idea if there’ll be downloadable artwork, and I don’t particularly care too much.

I don’t understand why some people feel inclined to pay full retail prices for the download album. Bands only get a small portion of the CD pie money, the rest goes to label, distributor and retailer. In fact I’m dead sure Radiohead don’t care what you pay, but if you give something for the busker’s tin they’ll give you a greatful nod. And if you decide to share these DRM free files, that’s up to you. They obviously aren’t scared of the quality of their work and hope you’ll spread the word, come to a show or buy some merchandise. They have enhanced their chances of a wider audience.

The reason I didn’t pay £40 for the discbox is I don’t really care for vinyl or the packaging as I’m not a hardcore fan. I haven’t seen them live although I own all the albums (not the singles) from The Bends onward. My favourite album was actually the last one, much more than the quickly tiring OK Computer.

Besides, at 80p I’m not worried if I won’t like it! If I do like it, the probable CD release may tempt me into wanting a reasonable priced store copy with printed CD and inlay etc. 80p’s like when I gave friends of mine cassettes at school to tape me albums they wanted to share with me. I got some good ones – that I eventually bought the CD versions of.

My email program is open until sometime after midnight, to see if I’ll get the activation codes before waking up. If I don’t get jammed by traffic I’ll get to go to sleep with the new album in my Creative Muvo.

I’m not going to review the album – there’ll be tons of people doing that. Even people who never bothered to even glance at Radiohead artwork before.

Well done though, Mr Radioheads – you understand the nature that the industry should be.

2 thoughts on “In Rainbows

  1. Hello!
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and comments.
    Now people are giving away free albums ( I think the Charlatans , Ray Davies and others are doing this), what next?
    Although you can download anything for free off the internet anyway I still think there are quite a few people who like to pay money to buy a hard copy. But it’s interesting to see how things develop.
    I hope you enjoyed your Radiohead and if not as you say it was only 80p!

Leave a Reply

