Metallica’s Mama Said & Joy Division’s She’s Lost Control drum backing tracks

First off: Happy incoming ’08. I hope you have a good one!

With old acquaintance needing to be forgot, I’ve been doing a little disk tidying and found a pair of files that could be small gifts for guitarists, bassists or singers into Metallica or Joy Division.

Acoustic drumming is what I learnt first and then a little later I dabbled in software drum machine programming (and I mean truly as in point and clicking rather than keyboard performance) before other instruments.

When I learnt bass a good number of years ago now, one of the bands I played along to was Joy Division because of standing out, high register bass lines. But to make things a little fun, I carefully took the time to program the entire drum part in a now free drum machine (and bass line, but obviously I didn’t program that) emulator called ReBirth, to play along to. I used the default ‘mod’ sound set.
I have no use for this any more, so if any of you would like this backing track (and I post this not in order to peeve off JD-NO affiliates, I would take this down immediately if this is the case) to sing and/or play along to here, you go…below. You’ll need Pando software, and the files probably expire 90 days from this post. So don’t waste time!

Later on, I programmed (again, point and clicked, so I didn’t get much velocity or off 4/4 nuances) the other simple drums for Metallica’s Mama Said for a friend to play along to it. He actually didn’t bother using it at all, so it’d be nice if someone used it. This one was programmed in Orion using an acoustic kit sound, whereas SLC is more robotic sounding.Unlike SLC which is largely accurate bar the opening champagne cork sound, there are closed hi-hats filling in guiding silences, and rim shots indicate either count in or lulls where there is no singing or playing…You’ll get it if you’re a fan.

I made these things years ago, so I can’t remember if they’re exactly perfect to studio recordings, but I’m sure they mostly are.

These are just 128k mp3s to be standard decent quality files. I wouldn’t bother listening to these unless you plan to use them as these are simple backing tracks that are boring alone. I’d have added them directly to my blog but can’t do so due to restrictions.

27 September 2009 update: I’ve noticed this page has been getting a lot of hits and has disappointed visitors because of the expired Pando package. So here are the two mp3s individually (right/control click to save): Mama Said drums | She’s Lost Control drums.
Please let me know if you like them.

Leave a Reply

