Open letter to DEFRA

To whom it may concern,

I’m writing in regards to the proposed badger cull in order to curb TB in UK cattle. I believe that this is unnecessary for a unique reason.

To begin with, cows are not indigenous animals to Europe, particularly Northern Europe, and this is one of the reasons why they are susceptible to a range of health threats as they are not in their ideal climate – usually Africa or the Middle East.
A study from a decade ago shows that vitamin D could help to fight TB in cattle, and just like in humans, this is produced when exposed to the sun. The problem UK cattle have is that this climate cannot give them enough, and on top of that they are usually confined. So, not only does close confinement ease spread of infection, it also deters them from producing the substance that can help them fight any infection.

It is important to note that TB is an airborne bacterium and can travel very well without the help of badgers. Indeed, badgers would be unlikely to carry it too if they didn’t feel threatened during the day to rest under sunlight.
So, I feel that a badger cull is not only a waste of time, but genocidal for no reason. I propose that UK cattle are kept unconfined – and if confined to have UVB lights installed – and perhaps supplemented with vitamin D. I am willing to bet that a trial run of this would not only be more economical but appease animal rights activists, and bring permanent benefits.

I am not sure if this is the appropriate place to air my concern or if I as one person can have any impact, but it would be appreciated if this can be forwarded to the correct department.

***
I emailed this. There’s a line in One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest that goes something like “well, I tried goddamnit. At least I did that.”, and it’s in situations like these that R.P. McMurphy inspires me.
4 thoughts on “Open letter to DEFRA

  1. Dear Mo,

    What an excellent letter

    I suggest that you send a shortened version to the newspapers, like The Times & The Telegraph – which the politicians and the civil servants read – plus the Guardian & the Independent, which the journalists read

    Regards Rufus Greenbaum Mobile: +44 7831 135428 Email: rufus@greenbaum.com

    • Hi Rufus,

      Nice to hear from you again. I like your suggestion and I think I will follow it. Many thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

